Red Velvet Swirl Cheesecake Brownies

This beauty is my 3 favourite

desserts in ONE ! 

 

Chewy, moist, decadent red velvet brownies swirled with cheesecake

 

Red Velvet + Cheesecake + Brownie
20140615_095648

I came across this beautiful recipe by sheer accident , but I’ll call it LUCK !

 

I hadn’t baked ANYTHING Red Velvet in a while, but I was having some major cravings. Alas, it’s way too hot here and I’m stuck up with my Law School Applications to go to Hauz Khas Village and indulge myself at Elma’s – My most favourite place in , well, Everywhere.

So I stepped out for a bit when it was cooler in the evening to stock up on some supplies, specifically to make a Red Velvet Cheesecake. I managed to scour for and garner every ingredient I needed, except for the most important one – CREAM CHEESE !

I absolute hate how EXPENSIVE and RARELY AVAILABLE, Good Quality  Cream Cheese is,  in and around where I live.

But then I began to wonder if it was doable at home , and looked it up on the internet. And Google, oh you wonderful wonderful thing !

Turns out that Cream Cheese is made from Yoghurt, ESSENTIALLY. And obviously factory made cream cheese is fancy and hard and is boiled at various temperatures and comes with preservatives and additives etc.

But, itis entirely possible to make Organic Cream Cheese at home, in a BUNCH of ways. How I decided to do it was –

1. Put yoghurt in a thin cotton cloth/muslin cloth/ cheese cloth

2. Bunch it up and gather the yoghurt in place and gather the ends. Tie them up

3. Hang up the cloth with the yoghurt, tied to a tap or a handle or anything, over the sink or a bowl and let it drain out the whey.

4. In about 2-4 hours, what you will have would be Greek Yoghurt – Which can also be used in Cheesecakes.

5. In about 10-12 hours, you’d have Cream Cheese. It might be a little tangy, but if you want to tone down the flavour, you can leave it in the fridge for a few days and the tangy flavour will fade away.

6. If you prefer harder and drier cheese , leave it hung out another couple of hours.

So once I had THAT sorted and done, I decided to try it out, and MAN does it totally serve the purpose ! I doubt I’ll be BUYING Cream Cheese any time soon. This is a fantastic substitute !

 

20140614_213306

 

As for the Stunning Brownies, here’s the Recipe ! 🙂
 
( I over-baked mine just a tad bit , and my first batch didn’t quite last the night, by the time I woke up this morning and decided to click some pictures of the Brownies, they’d been devoured by the fam, save for two little pieces – Out of the 16 generous sized squares I had cut out. I’ll be making another batch today or tomorrow and will definitely upload better Brownie pictures !)
 
 

Ingredients:

RED VELVET BROWNIES

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick or 115g) unsalted butter
  • 1 cup (200g) granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup (32g) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon liquid or gel red food colouring
  • 1 tsp white vinegar
  • 3/4 cup (95g) all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder

CHEESECAKE SWIRL

  • 8 ounces (224g) cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup (100g) granulated sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F / 180C degrees. Spray 8×8 baking pan with nonstick spray. Set aside.

Make the brownie layer first: In a small bowl, beat the 2 eggs together. Set aside. Melt the butter in a large microwave safe bowl in 30 second increments until melted. Stir in 1 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, cocoa powder, salt, food coloring, and vinegar. Mix each of those ingredients into the batter in that order. Whisk in the eggs, then fold in the flour  and baking powder, until completely incorporated. Do not overmix. Pour the brownie batter into prepared baking pan, leaving about 3-4 Tablespoons for the top.

Make the cheesecake swirl: With a hand-held mixer on medium speed, beat the softened cream cheese, 1/4 cup sugar, egg yolk, and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla in a medium bowl until completely smooth – about 1 minute. Dollop spoonfuls of the cream cheese mixture on top of the prepared brownie batter. Cover with the last few Tablespoons of brownie batter. Glide a knife through the layers, creating a swirl pattern.

Bake the brownies for 28-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Allow the brownies to cool completely before cutting into squares. Cover brownies and store at room temperature for 3 days or in the refrigerator for up to 6 days. Brownies will freeze well, up to 2 months. Thaw overnight in the refrigerator.

 

 

20140614_213254

 

I hope you love these beauties

as much as I did ! Enjoy!  🙂

 

 

20140615_095753

 
 
Leave a Reply

